Who funds spinal cord injury research?
We count 46 funded spinal cord injury projects, active between 2021 and 2033, from 5 funders. The most came from EU · ERC (13 projects), Wellcome (9 projects) and EU · MSCA (8 projects). The median award is $2.2M, across the 44 of 46 projects that list an amount.
- Funded projects
- 46
- Funders
- 5
- Median award
- $2.2M
- Open calls now
- 4
Top funders of spinal cord injury research
| Funder | Projects | Share | Median award |
|---|---|---|---|
| EU · ERC | 13 | 28% | $2.1M |
| Wellcome | 9 | 20% | $2.7M |
| EU · MSCA | 8 | 17% | $278K |
| NIH · NINDS | 5 | 11% | $3.3M |
| EU · EIC | 5 | 11% | $3.2M |
| NIH · NIBIB | 2 | 4% | — |
| EU · Widening participation and spreading excellence | 1 | 2% | — |
| NSF · MPS | 1 | 2% | — |
| UKRI · MRC | 1 | 2% | — |
| UKRI · Horizon Europe Guarantee | 1 | 2% | — |
Projects whose title or summary mentions spinal cord injury. Median award: of the projects that list an amount, in US dollars; “—” when fewer than 3 do.
Open spinal cord injury funding calls
4 open calls mention spinal cord injury today.
-
DoW Spinal Cord Injury, Translational Research Award
Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACANot specifiedDeadline: November 12, 2026 ·
-
DoW Spinal Cord Injury, Clinical Trial Award
Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACANot specifiedDeadline: November 12, 2026 ·
-
DoW Spinal Cord Injury, Clinical Translation Research Award
Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACANot specifiedDeadline: November 12, 2026 ·
-
DoW Spinal Cord Injury, Investigator-Initiated Research Award
Defense Health Agency Contracting Activity - DHACANot specifiedDeadline: November 12, 2026 ·
Funded spinal cord injury projects
A sample, latest start first, at most three per program.
-
A cross-species approach to uncover mechanisms of spinal cord regeneration
Wellcome · £2,349,993 · ends 2033
-
Circuit failures in primary dystonia: cells, synapses, and behaviour
Wellcome · £4,486,918 · ends 2031
-
ENDASCOP: Establishing Neuronal Drivers And the Spinal Circuitry of Osteoarthritis Pain
Wellcome · £2,328,408 · ends 2031
-
Neural Repair for Chronic Incomplete Cervical Spinal Cord Injury with Nogo Receptor Blockade plus Rehabilitative Training
NIH · NINDS · $3,306,533 · ends 2030
-
Optimization of spinal cord stimulation parameters to augment the activity of a critical subpopulation of dorsal horn inhibitory neurons and attenuate pain and itch responses
NIH · NINDS · $3,350,460 · ends 2030
-
Tuning Nucleopeptide Matrices for Stem Cell Culture
NSF · MPS · $450,000 · ends 2029
-
SmartStim, a novel implantable neuromodulation system to cure chronic pain.
NIH · NIBIB · $3,473,616 · ends 2028
-
Collaborative Union of Research Expertise (CURE): Investigating the oxytocin receptor mechanism in chronic visceral pain (CVP) suppression
UKRI · MRC · £256,890 · ends 2028
-
Transspinal Magnetic Stimulation for the Treatment of Neuropathic Pain
NIH · NIBIB · $3,565,780 · ends 2027
-
A fully-implanted spinal cord stimulation system to restore sensation and relieve phantom limb pain after lower-limb amputation
NIH · NINDS · $3,242,520 · ends 2027
How we count
Funded projects come from public award records (NIH RePORTER, NSF, EU CORDIS, UKRI Gateway to Research, Wellcome, the Gates Foundation, DOE, NASA and USDA NIFA) whose title or summary matches “spinal cord”. NIH lists each budget year separately; one project counts once. Amounts are as the funder lists them; medians use only projects that list one, in US dollars. Open calls and forecasts are from our listings of October 28, 2026. A project can mention a topic without being mainly about it, so treat the counts as a guide to who funds the area.
Get matched with spinal cord injury calls that fit your research
Build a free research profile and Lantern Grants scores every open call against your work, tracks your deadlines and reminds you before they pass.
Get matched free