Who funds rehabilitation research?
We count 62 funded rehabilitation projects, active between 2020 and 2032, from 7 funders. The most came from EU · MSCA (17 projects), EU · ERC (12 projects) and Wellcome (9 projects). The median award is $1M, across the 55 of 62 projects that list an amount.
- Funded projects
- 62
- Funders
- 7
- Median award
- $1M
- Open calls now
- 4
Top funders of rehabilitation research
| Funder | Projects | Share | Median award |
|---|---|---|---|
| EU · MSCA | 17 | 27% | $298K |
| EU · ERC | 12 | 19% | $879K |
| Wellcome | 9 | 15% | $1.8M |
| EU · Health | 5 | 8% | $7M |
| EU · Digital, Industry and Space | 2 | 3% | — |
| NIH · NINDS | 2 | 3% | — |
| EU · EIC | 2 | 3% | — |
| NSF · ENG | 2 | 3% | — |
| DOE | 1 | 2% | — |
| EU · Food, Bioeconomy Natural Resources, Agriculture and Environment | 1 | 2% | — |
Projects whose title or summary mentions rehabilitation. Median award: of the projects that list an amount, in US dollars; “—” when fewer than 3 do.
Open rehabilitation funding calls
4 open calls mention rehabilitation today.
-
Assistive, Enabling and Rehabilitative technologies
National Science Foundation (SBIR/STTR)Not specifiedDeadline: July 7, 2027 ·
-
Rehabilitation
National Science Foundation (SBIR/STTR)Not specifiedDeadline: July 7, 2027 ·
-
NCMRR Early Career Research Award (R03 Clinical Trial Optional)
National Institutes of HealthUp to $200,000Deadline: January 7, 2028 ·
-
NINDS Efficacy and Exploratory Clinical Trials (UG3/UH3 - Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of HealthNot specifiedDeadline: March 9, 2029 ·
Forecast: announced, not open yet
9 forecast calls on rehabilitation. Funders publish forecasts before a call opens; you can't apply to these yet, and dates can change.
-
ForecastAdvanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Community Living and Participation
Administration for Community Living$245,000 – $250,000Expected to open October 5, 2026
-
ForecastAdvanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Employment
Administration for Community Living$245,000 – $250,000Expected to open October 5, 2026
-
ForecastAdvanced Rehabilitation Research Training (ARRT) Program - Health and Function
Administration for Community Living$245,000 – $250,000Expected to open October 5, 2026
-
ForecastCenter on Knowledge Translation for Disability and Rehabilitation Research
Administration for Community Living$795,000 – $800,000Expected to open January 13, 2027
-
ForecastRehabilitation Research and Training Center (RRTC): National Research Center for Parents with Disabilities
Administration for Community Living$920,000 – $925,000Expected to open January 26, 2027
-
ForecastRehabilitation Engineering Research Center on Recreational, Sport, and Exercise Technologies for People with Disabilities
Administration for Community Living$970,000 – $975,000Expected to open February 15, 2027
-
ForecastRehabilitation Engineering Research Center on Technologies for People Who are Blind or have Low Vision
Administration for Community Living$970,000 – $975,000Expected to open February 22, 2027
-
ForecastTraumatic Brain Injury Model Systems Centers
Administration for Community Living$560,000 – $640,000Expected to open February 1, 2027
Funded rehabilitation projects
A sample, latest start first, at most three per program.
-
Neural Repair for Chronic Incomplete Cervical Spinal Cord Injury with Nogo Receptor Blockade plus Rehabilitative Training
NIH · NINDS · $3,306,533 · ends 2030
-
SCH: Collaborative Research: Rehabilitation Evaluation of Neurologic Motor Disorders using Wearable Sensors
NSF · ENG · $499,999 · ends 2030
-
Telerehabilitation In The Home After Stroke: A Randomized, Controlled, Assessor-Blind Clinical Trial (The TR-2 Trial)
NIH · NINDS · $4,453,239 · ends 2030
-
Rehabilitation with embedded mental health and diabetes services to address multiple long-term conditions among people with tuberculosis (RESTORE)
UKRI · MRC · £1,417,616 · ends 2030
-
FDT-BioTech: Biosignals Fusion-Informed Neuromusculoskeletal Reconstruction in Immersive Digital Twin for Personalized Stroke Gait Rehabilitation Using Lower-Limb Exoskeletons
NSF · MPS · $525,021 · ends 2029
-
Animal Models to Develop New Regimens for S. aureus Implant-Associated Infections
NIH · NIAID · $3,266,329 · ends 2029
-
Developing a deep learning-based model to predict rehabilitation outcomes in underserved groups living with multiple long-term conditions
Wellcome · ends 2028
-
Data-driven model-based control of neural dynamics to restore function in human neurological conditions
UKRI · Other NPIF · ends 2028
-
Physical Rehabilitation for Older Patients with Acute HFpEF-The REHAB-HFpEF Trial
NIH · NIA · $6,765,934 · ends 2028
-
Enhancing growth and development among malnourished infants recovering from serious illness
Wellcome · £347,487 · ends 2028
How we count
Funded projects come from public award records (NIH RePORTER, NSF, EU CORDIS, UKRI Gateway to Research, Wellcome, the Gates Foundation, DOE, NASA and USDA NIFA) whose title or summary matches “rehabilitation”. NIH lists each budget year separately; one project counts once. Amounts are as the funder lists them; medians use only projects that list one, in US dollars. Open calls and forecasts are from our listings of October 28, 2026. A project can mention a topic without being mainly about it, so treat the counts as a guide to who funds the area.
Get matched with rehabilitation calls that fit your research
Build a free research profile and Lantern Grants scores every open call against your work, tracks your deadlines and reminds you before they pass.
Get matched free