Who funds battery research?
We count 425 funded battery projects, active between 2021 and 2036, from 6 funders. The most came from EU · MSCA (114 projects), EU · Climate, Energy and Mobility (103 projects) and EU · ERC (61 projects). The median award is $2.1M, across the 413 of 425 projects that list an amount.
- Funded projects
- 425
- Funders
- 6
- Median award
- $2.1M
- Open calls now
- 24
Top funders of battery research
| Funder | Projects | Share | Median award |
|---|---|---|---|
| EU · MSCA | 114 | 27% | $272K |
| EU · Climate, Energy and Mobility | 103 | 24% | $6.5M |
| EU · ERC | 61 | 14% | $1.6M |
| DOE | 33 | 8% | $1.7M |
| EU · EIC | 32 | 8% | $2.6M |
| NSF · ENG | 19 | 4% | $392K |
| EU · Digital, Industry and Space | 16 | 4% | $7M |
| NSF · TIP | 13 | 3% | $50K |
| NSF · MPS | 9 | 2% | $458K |
| EU · Widening participation and spreading excellence | 5 | 1% | $540K |
Projects whose title or summary mentions battery. Median award: of the projects that list an amount, in US dollars; “—” when fewer than 3 do.
Open battery funding calls
24 open calls mention battery today; the 12 most on-topic are listed.
-
CfI: Battery innovation for dual use and defence phase 1
Innovate UKNot specifiedDeadline: November 4, 2026 ·Real odds: About 1 in 7 funded (14% · Innovate UK, all funding decisions, 2024-25)
-
Battery Innovation Programme: investor partnerships
Innovate UKNot specifiedDeadline: November 25, 2026 ·Real odds: About 1 in 7 funded (14% · Innovate UK, all funding decisions, 2024-25)
-
Battery innovation: feasibility studies round three
Innovate UKUp to £25,000,000Deadline: December 2, 2026 ·Real odds: About 1 in 7 funded (14% · Innovate UK, all funding decisions, 2024-25)
-
Battery innovation: concept development round three
Innovate UKUp to £25,000,000Deadline: December 2, 2026 ·Real odds: About 1 in 7 funded (14% · Innovate UK, all funding decisions, 2024-25)
-
Sustainable and Competitive Cell Production Techniques for Lithium-ion And Sodium-ion Batteries (BATT4EU Partnership)
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €18,900,000Deadline: March 31, 2027 ·
-
Enhanced electric operation and battery durability (ZEWT Partnership)
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €10,000,000Deadline: April 14, 2027 ·
-
Novel approaches towards next-generation battery concepts, leveraging the enabling role of innovative advanced materials (BATT4EU and IAM4EU Partnerships)
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €4,800,000Deadline: April 14, 2027 ·
-
Demonstration for Long-duration Battery Energy Storage Systems (BATT4EU Partnership)
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €9,400,000Deadline: September 15, 2027 ·
-
Improvement of Adaptability, Flexibility and Efficiency of Existing Recycling Processes (BATT4EU Partnership)
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €9,400,000Deadline: March 31, 2027 ·
-
Concentrated solar thermal systems for decarbonising industrial processes
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €6,000,000Deadline: March 31, 2027 ·
-
Co-funding Strategic Energy Technology (SET) Plan renewable fuel value chains at EU, national, regional, and local level
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €30,000,000Deadline: March 31, 2027 ·
-
Innovative technologies and solutions to improve wave and tidal energy systems
European Commission · Horizon EuropeUp to €43,000,000Deadline: March 31, 2027 ·
Real odds
- About 1 in 7 funded · 14% · Innovate UK, all funding decisions, 2024-25 · UKRI investment and outputs data, table 2.1
Published success rates for the programs behind the open calls above: the share of applications the funder funded, program-wide, not for this topic.
Funded battery projects
A sample, latest start first, at most three per program.
-
Sustainable materials and manufacturing for zero-excess multivalent batteries
UKRI · EPSRC · £2,152,707 · ends 2036
-
Healthy Aging and Senile Dementia
NIH · NIA · $6,374,287 · ends 2031
-
CAREER: Controlling dimensionality and ligand connectivity to tune intercalation properties in transition metal oxychlorides
NSF · MPS · $592,052 · ends 2031
-
CAREER: Atomistic-Scale Investigation of How Chemical and Physical Heterogeneities Govern Ion-Selective Transport in Metal-Organic Framework Membranes
NSF · ENG · $548,900 · ends 2031
-
CAREER: Opportunistic and Adaptive Multi-Modal In-Sensor Computing for Artificial Intelligence of Things
NSF · CISE · $693,772 · ends 2031
-
Alaska village electric cooperative, inc
DOE · $2,665,121 · ends 2031
-
CAREER: Materials, Electrolyte, and Interphase Design for Rechargeable Fluoride-Ion Batteries
NSF · ENG · $660,000 · ends 2031
-
Advancing Life Sciences with Diamond-II
Wellcome · £40,452,000 · ends 2031
-
Nickel exposure disrupts Sp1/ZEB1-dependent transcriptional regulation
NIH · NIEHS · $3,234,310 · ends 2030
-
This project will bring the recipients expertise in architecture and operation of storage-integrated microgrids for maximum community…
DOE · $4,708,005 · ends 2030
How we count
Funded projects come from public award records (NIH RePORTER, NSF, EU CORDIS, UKRI Gateway to Research, Wellcome, the Gates Foundation, DOE, NASA and USDA NIFA) whose title or summary matches “battery or batteries”. NIH lists each budget year separately; one project counts once. Amounts are as the funder lists them; medians use only projects that list one, in US dollars. Open calls and forecasts are from our listings of October 28, 2026. A project can mention a topic without being mainly about it, so treat the counts as a guide to who funds the area.
Get matched with battery calls that fit your research
Build a free research profile and Lantern Grants scores every open call against your work, tracks your deadlines and reminds you before they pass.
Get matched free