Who funds ALS research?
We count 42 funded ALS projects, active between 2020 and 2034, from 4 funders. The most came from NIH · NINDS (15 projects), Wellcome (12 projects) and EU · MSCA (6 projects). The median award is $3M, across the 39 of 42 projects that list an amount.
- Funded projects
- 42
- Funders
- 4
- Median award
- $3M
- Open calls now
- 1
Top funders of ALS research
| Funder | Projects | Share | Median award |
|---|---|---|---|
| NIH · NINDS | 15 | 36% | $6.1M |
| Wellcome | 12 | 29% | $1M |
| EU · MSCA | 6 | 14% | $289K |
| NIH · NIA | 3 | 7% | $3.7M |
| EU · ERC | 3 | 7% | $3M |
| NIH · NIEHS | 1 | 2% | — |
| UKRI · Innovate UK | 1 | 2% | — |
| UKRI · BBSRC | 1 | 2% | — |
Projects whose title or summary mentions ALS. Median award: of the projects that list an amount, in US dollars; “—” when fewer than 3 do.
Open ALS funding calls
1 open call mentions ALS today.
-
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Intermediate Patient Population Expanded Access (U01 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of HealthNot specifiedDeadline: November 10, 2026 ·
Forecast: announced, not open yet
2 forecast calls on ALS. Funders publish forecasts before a call opens; you can't apply to these yet, and dates can change.
-
ForecastIdentify and Evaluate Potential Risk Factors for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - ERAUp to $500,000Expected to open October 1, 2026
-
ForecastAmyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Intermediate Patient Population Expanded Access (U01 Clinical Trial Required)
National Institutes of HealthNot specifiedExpected to open March 1, 2027
Funded ALS projects
A sample, latest start first, at most three per program.
-
Spinal microcircuit resilience in Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS): mechanisms, translational insights and therapeutic windows
Wellcome · £2,753,860 · ends 2034
-
C9orf72 amyotrophic lateral sclerosis/frontotemporal dementia Prevent
NIH · NIA · $3,730,537 · ends 2031
-
Neuronal cell cycle re-entry in ALS/FTD: protective response or neurodegeneration trigger?
Wellcome · £825,616 · ends 2031
-
Harnessing the diversity of African genomes to drive novel disease gene and pathway discovery for Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Spectrum Disorders
Wellcome · £2,246,457 · ends 2031
-
The Progressive Supranuclear Palsy Clinical Trial Platform (PTP)
NIH · NIA · $14,499,067 · ends 2030
-
An Intermediate-Size Expanded Access Protocol (EAP) for NUZ-001 in People with Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (NUZ-001 EAP)
NIH · NINDS · $8,276,544 · ends 2030
-
Integrating the exposome and epigenome identifies determinants of ALS risk, survival, and pathogenesis
NIH · NIEHS · $3,133,754 · ends 2029
-
Defining short RNA therapeutics that combat TDP-43 proteinopathy connected to AD and ADRDs.
NIH · NIA · $3,360,074 · ends 2029
-
Pre-Symptomatic Familial ALS (Pre-fALS) Study: From Prodrome and Biomarkers to ALS/FTD Prevention
NIH · NINDS · $11,282,768 · ends 2029
-
Genetic Contributions to Phenotypic Heterogeneity in the ALS-FTD Spectrum
NIH · NINDS · $3,204,260 · ends 2029
How we count
Funded projects come from public award records (NIH RePORTER, NSF, EU CORDIS, UKRI Gateway to Research, Wellcome, the Gates Foundation, DOE, NASA and USDA NIFA) whose title or summary matches “amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or motor neuron disease”. NIH lists each budget year separately; one project counts once. Amounts are as the funder lists them; medians use only projects that list one, in US dollars. Open calls and forecasts are from our listings of October 28, 2026. A project can mention a topic without being mainly about it, so treat the counts as a guide to who funds the area.
Get matched with ALS calls that fit your research
Build a free research profile and Lantern Grants scores every open call against your work, tracks your deadlines and reminds you before they pass.
Get matched free